Electronics Forum

Electronics Circuits & Projects discussion forum. Get help with electronics.

On/Off swicth! I'm thinking a relay would do the job?

New to electronics? Don't know where to start. No problem! Post your questions here.

Moderator: pebe

On/Off swicth! I'm thinking a relay would do the job?

Postby albertc30 » Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:43 am

Hi all.

I am new to electronics and am getting quite enthusiastic about the all thing.

Currently I am on a level 3 second and last year on electrical installations and as such, great part of this course has been about electronics to a degree.

I have setup my 25W 12V solar panel on my shed and used a set of 3 switches to energise my lights in the way that;

Electronic timer switch - set to switch on at a given time but lights won't come on at this point yet,
A push out door switch - this is when the lights come on given the timer is one
A bypass switch so to have lights on with the door closed.

As I am getting more energy being generated from my panel, I want to channel this to heat up 20 litres of water that will be used in the garden to wash some tools and hands.

I have come up with the following list of components;
1 container
1 immersion thermostat heater
1 heat sensor switch
1 12V immersion pump
2 small floating switches
1 small floating switch ( for the water butt) this will switch on the power to the pump. I don't want the pump working if the water butt is empty.

Now, my problem is on the use of the two floating switches for the water tank. One will be at the top and one will be at the bottom.

I know one would suffice but the thing is there is little water displacement until the water pump starts bringing water back in, which, mixed with the hot water will get it cold in no time. So, the top floating switches off the pump and the bottom floating switch will start the pump once the water minimum level is reached.