Electronics Forum

Electronics Circuits & Projects discussion forum. Get help with electronics.

Load cell project, wheatstone bridge, EM noise, signal ampl.

New to electronics? Don't know where to start. No problem! Post your questions here.

Moderator: pebe

Load cell project, wheatstone bridge, EM noise, signal ampl.

Postby pdehairs » Sat Apr 12, 2014 2:18 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this forum and have never really been on a forum yet. I'm a student in aeronautical engineering and I've been asking myself some questions concerning the electronics implementation for an interesting project I'm working on.

I'll give a small introduction first:
The goal is to design a force transducer or load cell which will measure the couple (0-60Ncm) and traction(0-30N) of a propeller mounted brushless DC motor (840W max continuous, 15VDC).

To measure the loads I'm using 2 DC excited (Vexcitation=5VDC) fully active wheatstone bridges (operating with strain gauges) with an estimated output range of 1mV/Vex & 0.42mV/Vex for respectively the torque & thrust sensing wheatstone bridge. The respective precision required is 2.5µV/Vex & 1.4µV/Vex (this corresponds to 401& 301 values resp.)

A negative bridge output is possible, and the ADC has a range of 0-5V (10bit resolution=>5mV resolution) it thus can't measure negative voltages. Moreover, I specify that the maximum resolution I'll need on the ADC is 10mV, therefore I'll need a voltage step of 1V & 2V resp. after the amplifier (negative voltages bridge outputs will thus yield in measurements smaller than 1V & 2V resp.). The maximum output signal thus needs to be amplified to 4V& 3V resp. before the step. This corresponds resp. to an amplification factor of Av=800& Av=1450.
In short: The analog signal of interest will thus lie in the range of 1-5V & 2-5V resp. and must be measured with a 10mV precision.

Question: