Electronics Forum

Electronics Circuits & Projects discussion forum. Get help with electronics.

Motor triggered by a vibration sensor

New to electronics? Don't know where to start. No problem! Post your questions here.

Moderator: pebe

Motor triggered by a vibration sensor

Postby julienfhd » Sat Jun 15, 2013 9:09 am

Hi, my project consists of a vibration sensor that, when enabled, will trigger a motor which will function for a certain amount of time, then stop, and stay in this position as long as the sensor is detecting vibrations.
When the vibrations stop, I need the motor to reverse polarity and function in the opposite direction,for the same amount of time as before then stop, and repeat...
I'm a first year electrical engineer so please consider me a rookie in this field.
If someone could provide me with a suitable electrical circuit, with names and values for the part, i think i might be able to draw the corresponding board.
Thanks
julienfhd

Re: Motor triggered by a vibration sensor

Postby pebe » Sat Jun 15, 2013 10:50 am

You need to decide on a vibration sensor in order that you know what output it gives. Only then can you design a circuit for the motor. An electret microphone would be suitable if the vibration is in the audio range. If not, then the frequency and amplitude of the vibrations would need to be known.

Incidentally, if you design for the 'time' of motor run, rather than its position, there would be no guarantee that the motor would return to its original position. Would that matter?
pebe

Postby julienfhd » Sat Jun 15, 2013 11:16 am

The vibrations I need to detect, are of mechanical nature, more specifically, caused by a smartphone when one receives a notification (I mean the physical vibration of the phone, not the notification's sound).
And no, it doesn't matter, I'd rather stick with the motor run time.
julienfhd

Postby pebe » Sat Jun 15, 2013 12:36 pm