Electronics Forum

Electronics Circuits & Projects discussion forum. Get help with electronics.

Count Objects with a LDR and a calculator (help)

New to electronics? Don't know where to start. No problem! Post your questions here.

Moderator: pebe

Count Objects with a LDR and a calculator (help)

Postby ostef » Sat Feb 02, 2013 4:38 pm

Hi guys, thisi s my first post here, and I´m happy I found this site, the circuit I´m trying to make is the following:

Basically I have to preactivate the calculator so everytime you press the "=" key you get 1+1 and counts evrey object that blocks the light in the LDR.

My doubt is that how do I connect the calculator to the relay, I opened op the calculator and this is what I can see:

The red spot I marked is the "=" key, since I'm new in to electronics I really don´t have a clue how to connect the calculator to the spot I marked, also I would be really thankful if someone could explain me how the transistors are useful in this circuit (I really don´t know) and if the component VR1 works, since I simulated this circuit with a basci software "livewire", and when I increase or decrease it´s value it doesn´t change anything.

Also here is the link where I found this project and a video.

Link

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... sEGomCY9eQ

ostef

Re: Count Objects with a LDR and a calculator (help)

Postby pebe » Sun Feb 03, 2013 1:30 pm

First, let’s look at how the circuit works. LDR and VR1 form a voltage divider, and the voltage at their junction is fed to the base of Q1. VR1 is initially set so that in normal light the voltage on the base of Q1 is between 0.6V and 0.7V. That is sufficient to turn on Q1 and its collector at R1 will go down to almost 0V. That voltage is fed to the base of Q2 and so it is turned off and the relay is deactivated.