Electronics Forum

Electronics Circuits & Projects discussion forum. Get help with electronics.

Audio Camera Flash Trigger help

New to electronics? Don't know where to start. No problem! Post your questions here.

Moderator: pebe

Audio Camera Flash Trigger help

Postby newcube » Sun Jan 22, 2012 3:42 pm

Hi All,

I'm an absolute rank amateur at electronics (although I did A Level physics 20 years ago!) but a keen photographer and thought it'd be good fun to build an audio flash trigger to capture balloons bursting, etc.

I started with this:
direct_piezo.png
direct_piezo.png (8.69 KiB) Viewed 13192 times

but the piezo disc was nowhere near sensitive enough, only rapping it with a pen would cause the flash to fire.

My second attempt added an 741 op amp to try to boost the piezo signal, but the same problem remains..
piezo_opamp_trigger.png
piezo_opamp_trigger.png (12.69 KiB) Viewed 13192 times

I'm awaiting a delivery of an SCR that I'm intending to build this with:
http://hiviz.com/tools/triggers/makeown.htm#st

I assume the SCR is more sensitive to the piezo disc.

Can someone cast an eye over my circuits and let me know where I might make improvements to the sensitivity of the disc, or will I need to wait for the SCR?

Thanks in advance,
Nic
newcube

Re: Audio Camera Flash Trigger help

Postby pebe » Fri Jan 27, 2012 4:19 pm

Hi newcube,

Looking at your 3 circuits in turn,

1. The piezo is open cvircuit as far as DC is concerned, so the 2N2222 has no forward bias. So base current would not flow unless the piezo volts exceeded 600mV. If the piezo output was high enough, the transistor would even then only turn on during spikes. It is likely they would not be on long enough to operate the circuit. It may improve things to fit a 100nF from collector to emitter to hold the collector low between spikes.