Electronics Forum

Electronics Circuits & Projects discussion forum. Get help with electronics.

Is ground plane causing feedback and oscillations?

Discuss about electronic circuits here. Request help for circuits that you couldn't find anywhere else, how a circuit works etc. Discuss anything related to electronic circuits.

Moderator: pebe

Is ground plane causing feedback and oscillations?

Postby stark65 » Wed Jul 22, 2015 12:54 am

Hi everybody. I'm relatively new to PCB design, so I hope somebody can help me. I designed a relatively large (12x12 inches) 4 layer circuit board with internal power and ground planes. The board is standard .062inch epoxy-glass FR-4 with 1 1/4 oz copper thickness. The circuit is a 52 channel current supply using a simple ADA 4610 quad opamp connected to PNP BCX-51 bipolars with a 10ohm sense resistor providing the current feedback voltage. I used the multi-layer board because I wanted to simplify the provision of power and ground access points across the board. I did NOT break up the internal planes - they stretch across the entire board. The circuit has a switch between "setup" and "operate" mode with an on-board resistor to provide a load for setting the current in advance. When the current is correct, the user switches to the external load circuit to start testing. Trouble is: everything works great in "setup" mode, but in "operate" mode, the active current driver oscillates like crazy at about 10 MHz - highly distorted waveform. Voltage across a 5ohm load is 30V p-p! I suspect the large ground plane of the ground plane is providing unwanted cross-coupling between input traces and output, and I'm planning to re-design and break the power and ground planes into smaller strips carrying power and ground only to the correct pins.