Electronics Forum

Electronics Circuits & Projects discussion forum. Get help with electronics.

12V DC, 4 LED Lighting Circuit Help

Discuss about electronic circuits here. Request help for circuits that you couldn't find anywhere else, how a circuit works etc. Discuss anything related to electronic circuits.

Moderator: pebe

12V DC, 4 LED Lighting Circuit Help

Postby FortisVenti » Fri Nov 28, 2014 1:36 am

Good Day!

I am an absolute novice when it comes to circuitry and electronics! Consequently, I do not have the technical vocabulary to facilitate your assistance; however, I'll attempt to be as descriptive and succinct regarding my needs.

The system that I want to construct is a 12V DC, 4 light (LED) signal system. The lights will be controlled via one or more wired switches from a distance of up to 75 feet. The system has both safety and regulatory implications; so, simplicity, dependability and field serviceability are important concerns. Design elegance, such as: 1) single switch design; and, 2) mini LEDs indicating which of the remote LED lights are currently illuminated, would be a plus, but not necessary in the initial evolution. The switch (lighting control) system will be mounted in a protective enclosure; however, the system in its entirety will be exposed to outdoor and marine environments.

The switch system I have in mind will offer the following Switch Positions (SP#) and resulting Lights (L#) illumination(s):

SP0 All Lights OFF
SP1 L1 and L2 ON; L3 and L4 OFF
SP2 L1, L2 and L3 ON; L4 OFF
SP3 L4 ON; L1, L2 and L3 OFF