Electronics Forum

Electronics Circuits & Projects discussion forum. Get help with electronics.

First Project help, please.

Discuss about electronic circuits here. Request help for circuits that you couldn't find anywhere else, how a circuit works etc. Discuss anything related to electronic circuits.

Moderator: pebe

First Project help, please.

Postby JibTeenuc » Thu Oct 10, 2013 10:50 pm

Hi everyone,

First time poster (please be gentle).

I’m a computer professional of some 30 years (software and hardware repairs since the BBC Model B, Vic20 and Spectrum 48K LOL).

I have a small(?) LED project and not the slightest idea where to start except in that I have researched what I believe I need and am armed with Soldering Iron (which I am used to) along with stuff I’m not used to as follows: Breadboard and cables, battery holders, AC/DC power adaptor, a shed-load of 5mm Ultra-Bright LEDs, Resistors, Capacitors, Diodes, Ne555 and Ne556 chips, Crocodile clips etc., etc.

I currently have no idea how to read an electronic schematic diagram (but am reasonably confident that I can learn).

I want to produce an up/down, flashing, LED sign and have attached my own (non-schematic) diagrams of what I hope to achieve.

I have no idea whether this is a simple or a difficult project, I am so “green-behind-the-gills” and do not even understand the advantages or otherwise of running the proposed LED project in either Series or Parallel mode.

I would wish to power the project from either AS/DC adaptor or a 12 volt car battery and only for very short (on-demand) periods of time, similar to how often the button is pressed on a Pelican Crossing, say.

Is anyone able to offer any help and advice, please?

Project_outlines-001-4.jpg
Project_outlines-001-4.jpg (162.57 KiB) Viewed 18635 times

Project_outlines-002-4.jpg
Project_outlines-002-4.jpg (65.85 KiB) Viewed 18635 times

Project_outlines-003-4.jpg
Project_outlines-003-4.jpg (126.96 KiB) Viewed 18635 times
JibTeenuc