Electronics Forum

Electronics Circuits & Projects discussion forum. Get help with electronics.

Help with audio output signals

Discuss about electronic circuits here. Request help for circuits that you couldn't find anywhere else, how a circuit works etc. Discuss anything related to electronic circuits.

Moderator: pebe

Help with audio output signals

Postby brentduke » Sat Jan 07, 2012 8:04 pm

Hey guys. This is my first time posting here. I need help. I am using a SSR (solid state relay) to turn on and off a set of lights from the signal from my audio receiver. The problem is that the signal from my receiver is not strong enough to trigger the relay unless the volume is turned all the way up! With that said. Is there a way to increase the (variable) output by like 5 volts or so? I don't really know what to do. I attached a picture I found on the internet of what I am basically doing. Its very simple....Sort of....

Lights-Simple2.jpg
Lights-Simple2.jpg (86.37 KiB) Viewed 12882 times
Forever Fun!
brentduke

Re: Help with audio output signals

Postby Thomas W » Sun Jan 08, 2012 3:14 pm

What type of solid state relay are you using? (Brand / model)
The picture says "... outputs" but I assume the relay is only connected to 1 output?
What brand and model is your audio receiver?
Thomas W

Postby brentduke » Wed Jan 11, 2012 11:17 am

The Relay is an NTE Relay and the part number is RSI-ID4-21.
Yes is it only connected to one output from the receiver.
I have tried to run this out of my computer but get absolutely nothing and from my receiver it has to be turned up all the way... The receiver is a Sony DAV-HDX265.
Forever Fun!
brentduke

Postby JMACgyver » Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:48 am

Are the lights you are wanting to control AC?
If so, you will need some sort of boost circuit between the audio source and the relay.
Your relay lists as 3-24V, which with the voltage audio signals produce, will barely scratch the minimum threshold.